ICLA Essay Competition in International and Comparative Construction Law

The ICLA is proud to announce the winner of the ICLA Essay Competition in International and Comparative Construction Law, Mirna Monla!

 ICLA Essay Competition Winner 2021 - Mirna Molna

Mirna Monla trained as an architect and later completed her master's degree in the University of Stuttgart’s International Construction Practice and Law program. Her winning submission was adapted from her academic thesis on the reliability of expert evidence in international arbitration. She is currently based in Berlin, Germany, where she works as a project manager and claims specialist.

The panel of judges and the entire ICLA wishes to congratulate Mirna on her winning submission!


The International Construction Law Association is pleased to announce the establishment of the ICLA Essay Competition in International and Comparative Construction Law to be adjudicated by a distinguished panel of specialists in international and comparative construction law.

PRIZE - The winner will receive:

  • • € 1,500
  • • an invitation to attend the next ICLA conference to present the paper, including economy travel and hotel accommodations,
  • • membership for one year in the ICLA, and
  • • support in submission to a leading academic journal.

ELIGIBILITY - The competition is open to students enrolled in a university law degree and those who have received a law degree or were admitted to practice within the last three years.


  • • must relate to issues in international and comparative construction law
  • • must be original and unpublished works (ie, not yet submitted for publication) concerning issues in international and comparative construction law
  • • should not exceed 10,000 words (including footnotes);
  • • must be written in English;
  • • should use OSCOLA or some other well-established legal citation guide (e.g. Bluebook);
  • • must be in MS Word format.

DEADLINE - Submissions must be received by email at essay@icl-assoc.com no later than 23:59 CET, 31 May 2021 together with the author's statement affirming eligibility for the competition, originality of the work, and the unpublished status of the paper.

The deadline for submissions will not be modified for reasons associated with the pandemic. Should an in-person conference not be held in 2021, the winner will be given an opportunity to attend the next in-person Conference.

JUDGES - The submissions will be judged by a panel of ICLA board members.

The ICAM is an annual competition in the sphere of arbitration of construction
disputes in a form of a moot court, which is unparalleled in the field.

The ICAM is organised by the Association for the Organisation and Promotion
of the International Construction Arbitration Moot. The partners of the Association
are the International Construction Law Association and the Russian Institute of Modern Arbitration.

The teams are invited to prepare Memoranda for the Claimant and for the Respondent, as well as the Arbitral Award basing on the provided Problem, prepared by the world’s leading experts in the sphere.

The teams are required to draft the Memoranda applying the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts. The Award, in turn, should be based on the law of the country where the educational institution presented by the team is located.

During the Oral Hearings, each team will have to defend the position of one of the parties to the dispute against the other team presenting the other party before the panel of arbitrators.

Participation in the ICAM is a great opportunity for professional growth for students interested in construction law and arbitration, as well as for international collaboration between academics, students and lawyers from all over
the world. Also, the winners and participants of the ICAM will receive the awards and certificates.

The ICAM will take place in October 2021 via Zoom.

For more details, please visit our website.